One Step at a Time, Becoming an Author

Recently a man who lost 600 pounds with no surgery was asked how it did it.  His answer was “one step.”  He explained that he never worried about losing 600 pounds or even 100 pounds, but only thought of one step at a time.

It made me think about beginning writers.  When I first decided to write seriously, for publication, I took an online course that had a similar view.  “Write five minutes at a time,” we were told, “whenever you can but at least daily.”  Later, the instructor said when we could write for five minutes with no trouble or stress, then try ten minutes.  After ten, try fifteen.

At conferences, different speakers had similar advice.  “I write one page at a time with no self editing,” said one.  Another said, “I write a page a day and at the end of the year, I have a book.”  This seemed like good advice to me.

I started with five, then fifteen minutes and soon I was on a roll.  After all, I wanted to write my life story!  About a year later, I joined National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).  I was concerned that I didn’t have it in me to write 1,666 words a day for 30 days.  But what did I have to lose?  I tried NaNo for my second book, “Murder in the Caribbean.”  I won!  (That’s what they call it when you make your 50,000 words in 30 days.)  I proudly displayed my award plaque on my website, and have every year since.  Now when I sit down to write, my words come easily (for NaNoWriMo) since there is no editing at this time.  This happens each November.  I do think about and outline a novel before November 1.

Even though it takes about a year more of editing, reediting, and formatting before publication, I still have my basic book completed.  But this is short compared to the three years it took to complete and submit for my first novel.

I now have eight books published with two more in edit, and outlines for a few other children’s books.  My advice this week is to find a comfortable, quiet spot; get your computer or pen and pencil; then write for five minutes.  Try this for a week.  Then increase your writing time each week until you are satisfied with your progress to complete a book in a year.

Yes, you have to be serious about wanting to write, but you can do it!  Modify this plan for articles, short stories, series, etc.    Join us by November for NaNoWriMo for your 50,000 words when you are ready.  I’ll see you there!

Happy writing, planning, thinking and preparing to become an author!

Kathy

Contact me at kathy@kathymckenzierunk.com

www.kathymckenzierunk.com

https://www.facebook.com/kathy.mckenzierunk.9

One thought on “One Step at a Time, Becoming an Author

  1. It’s taking me about three years, from start to finish, for my first novel too. I’m hoping that it only takes a year or so for my second book. I like the idea of having an outline ready when NaNoWriMo rolls around. Thanks for the advice.

Leave a comment